Log in

2019 Annual Membership Meeting Will be Available Virtually

Time: Oct 18, 2019 05:20 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 588 366 2345

One tap mobile
+16468769923,,5883662345# US (New York)
+16699006833,,5883662345# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location
        +1 646 876 9923 US (New York)
        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
Meeting ID: 588 366 2345
Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/aexuLvmpUG

2019 Election Information

We are pleased to present the 2019 slate of candidates. Electronic voting will open at the conclusion of our General Membership Meeting on Friday, October 18th from 5:20-5:45 pm and will be open to all members for 2 weeks. Below you will find the candidates for each position and links to the application submitted. 

ISTA Board of Directors Slate 2019-2020



Secretary 1 year term

Cheryl Knight

Vice President 1 year term

Nicole Vick

Region 1 Director (A) 2 year term

Patricia Boguslaw

Region 2 Director (A) 2 year term

Jennifer Heilman

Region 3 Director (A) 2 year term

Don Powers

Region 4 Director (A) 2 year term

Chris Sewell

Region 5 Director (A) 2 year term

Jennifer Hopkins 

Region 6 Director (A) 2 year term

Cindy Birkner

Region 7 Director (A) 2 year term


Region 1 Director (B) 1 year term

Michelle Koehler

Region 2 Director (B) 1 year term


Region 3 Director (B) 1 year term

Heather Galbreath

Region 4 Director (B) 1 year term

Jennifer Smith

Region 5 Director (B) 1 year term

Amy Boyd Telford

Region 6 Director (B) 1 year term


Region 7 Director (B) 1 year term



Participation by our members is vitally important to the ISTA organization and to science teaching and learning in Illinois.

The ISTA Nominations & Elections Committee, chaired by the ISTA past-president and composed of the seven most recently elected directors, encourages qualified members to run for office. To qualify to run for an office position you MUST BE a current ISTA member. Office positions that are determined by the election process are as follows:


  • President-Elect
  • President
  • Past-President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary

REGIONAL DIRECTORS (2 per region):

  • Region 1
  • Region 2
  • Region 3
  • Region 4
  • Region 5
  • Region 6
  • Region 7

The elected members above constitute the Board of Directors and are the only ones that can vote at board meetings. The Board of Directors is responsible for overall policy, contractual approval, and direction of the ASSOCIATION and delegates responsibility of day-to-day operations to the Executive Director, Staff, the Executive Committee, and other standing or ad hoc committees. 

ISTA Organizational Chart

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software