Illinois science teaching association

Log in

Illinois Science Teaching Association

The Illinois Science Teaching Association (ISTA) promotes excellence in science teaching and learning throughout Illinois.   ISTA's connects science educators, science supervisors, science pre-service teachers, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, informal education institutions, and others involved in science education through a professional association committed to science teaching and learning. As the state chapter of the National Science Teaching Association, ISTA promotes excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all students of Illinois.  As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, ISTA is managed primarily by dedicated volunteers.  

ISTA's Governance Structure

The Illinois Science Teaching Association is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of five (5) Executive Officers and fourteen (14) Regional Directors.  The ISTA Board of Directors are elected by ISTA members.  The Board of Directors sets policy and makes decisions on behalf of the membership by providing general oversight regarding the affairs of the ISTA, its committees, affiliates and publications; determining its policies or changes therein; actively pursuing ISTA goals and objectives; and monitoring financial affairs. 

ISTA's Executive Officers

The Illinois Science Teaching Association Executive Officers perform specific duties and serve as chairpersons on ISTA Standing Committees.  The President chain shall be a six-year commitment and shall automatically progress based on the following terms: President-Elect (2 years), President (2 years) and Immediate Past President (2 years), each with a two-year term limit.  The Vice President and Secretary serve a two-year term as well. 

President: Aimee Park, 2018-2020

President-Elect: Kristin Rademacher, 2020-2022

Past President: Dr. Jason Crean, 2016-2018

Vice President: Nicole Vick, 2019-2020

Secretary: Cheryl Knight, 2019-2020

ISTA's Regions & Regional Directors

The Illinois Science Teaching Association Regional Directors represent the seven educational regions of Illinois.   The regions are a grouping of Illinois counties.   ISTA members working within each region elect two (2) Regional Directors.  ISTA Regional Directors serve staggered two-year terms to ensure continuity.  

Region 1:

Region 2:

Region 3:

Region 4:

Region 5:

Region 6:

Region 7:

DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, Suburban Cook, Will  

Regional Directors:

Michelle Koehler, 2019-2020 Patricia Boguslaw, 2019-2021

Boone, Bureau, Carroll, DeKalb, Henry, Jo Daviess, LaSalle, Lee, Marshall, Mercer, Ogle, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Stephenson, Whiteside, Winnebago

Regional Directors:

Jennifer Heilman, 2019-2021

Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Mason, McDonough, Mercer, Peoria, Schuyler, Tazewell, Warren,  Woodford

Regional Directors:

Heather Galbreath, 2019-2020 & Don Powers, 2019-2021

Champaign, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Kankakee, Livingston, Logan, Macon, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt, Shelby, Vermillion

Regional Directors:

Jennifer Smith, 2019-2020 & Chris Sewell, 2019-2021

Bond, Calhoun, Christian, Effingham, Fayette, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair

Regional Directors:


Alexander, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Richland, Saline, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, Williamson

Regional Directors:

Amy Boyd-Telford, 2019-2020 Cindy Birkner, 2019-2021

City of Chicago

Regional Directors:


ISTA's Staff

The Illinois Science Teaching Association has three (3) part-time staff members who serve as non-voting, ex-officio members of the ISTA Board of Directors.

Executive Director: Bridina Lemmer, Ph.D.

Assistant Executive Director: Ken Wester, Ed.S.

Finance Director: Bob Wolffe, Ed.D.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software