Follow Us

Log in

Illinois Science Teaching Association

Log in


Winter 2023

Fall 2023

The Illinois Science Teaching Association (ISTA) promotes excellence in science teaching and learning throughout Illinois. 

ISTA connects educators, supervisors, pre-service teachers, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, informal education institutions, and others involved in science education through a professional association committed to science teaching and learning. As the state chapter of the National Science Teaching Association, ISTA promotes excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all students of Illinois.  As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, ISTA is managed primarily by dedicated volunteers and supported by members and donors.  

ISTA Governance Structure

The Illinois Science Teaching Association is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of five (5) Executive Officers and fourteen (14) Regional Directors.  The ISTA Board of Directors are elected by ISTA members.  The Board of Directors sets policy and makes decisions on behalf of the membership by providing general oversight regarding the affairs of the ISTA, its committees, affiliates and publications; determining its policies or changes therein; actively pursuing ISTA goals and objectives; and monitoring financial affairs. 

ISTA Executive Officers

The Illinois Science Teaching Association Executive Officers perform specific duties and serve as chairpersons on ISTA Standing Committees.  The President chain shall be a six-year commitment and shall automatically progress based on the following terms: President-Elect (2 years), President (2 years) and Immediate Past President (2 years), each with a two-year term limit.  The Vice President and Secretary serve a two-year term as well. 

President: Nicole Vick


Past President: Kristin Rademaker

Vice President: Heather Galbreath

Secretary: Chris Embry Mohr

ISTA Regions & Regional Directors

The Illinois Science Teaching Association Regional Directors represent the seven educational regions of Illinois.   The regions are a grouping of Illinois counties.   ISTA members working within each region elect two (2) Regional Directors.  ISTA Regional Directors serve staggered two-year terms to ensure continuity.  

Region 1:

Region 2:

Region 3:

Region 4:

Region 5:

Region 6:

Region 7:

Regional Directors:

Patricia Boguslaw, 2022 - 2023

Jeff Grant, 2023-2024


DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, Suburban Cook, Will  

Regional Directors:

Maggie Moore, 2022 - 2023

Aubrey Mikos, 2023-2024


Boone, Bureau, Carroll, DeKalb, Henry, Jo Daviess, LaSalle, Lee, Marshall, Mercer, Ogle, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Stephenson, Whiteside, Winnebago

Regional Directors:

Sebastian Szyjka, 2022 - 2023

Vacant, 2023 - 2024


Adams, Brown, Cass, Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Mason, McDonough, Mercer, Menard, Morgan, Peoria, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Tazewell, Warren,  Woodford

Regional Directors:

Rebecca Wattleworth, 2022 - 2023

Deanna Keeney, 2023 - 2024


Champaign, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Kankakee, Livingston, Logan, Macon, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt, Shelby, Vermillion

Regional Directors:

Angela Box, 2022 - 2023

Brandy Hildebrand, 2023 - 2024


Calhoun, Christian, Effingham, Fayette, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair

Regional Directors:

Alyssa Weisenstein, 2022 - 2023

Amy Telford, 2023 - 2024


Alexander, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Richland, Saline, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, Williamson

Regional Directors:

Misty Richmond, 2022 - 2023

Jennifer Eastman, 2023-2024


City of Chicago

ISTA Staff

The Illinois Science Teaching Association has three (3) part-time staff members

Executive Director: Bridina Lemmer, Ph.D.

Assistant Executive Director: Ken Wester, Ed.S.

Finance Director: Bob Wolffe, Ed.D.

Meet the ISTA Board of Directors and Staff

Governance and Guidance Documents

About us

We are a membership-based organization dedicated to promoting excellence in science teaching and learning throughout Illinois.   As the state chapter of the NSTA, the Illinois Science Teaching Association (ISTA) serves as a local resource for science educators in Illinois.

Become a member

Join the professional network of educators influencing science education in Illinois.  

Contact us

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software